Update bundle #3

Last update: 20.01.2017.

Happy New Year! Yes, I realise I’m a bit late for that one, but I’ve been quite busy in the last month. I spent good part of my Christmas holidays and of January working on some improvements to Rejuvenaction, and yet others are planned. Let me tell you about them.

The largest change is the new version of the overpopulation objection. I’d been wanting to revise it for some time already, and I added a lot more meat to it in the process. I split it into three separate sections dealing with different aspects of the problem; each of them goes much more into detail than before. Comments and suggestions are welcome, especially if you notice any mistakes that I may have overlooked.

I answered two more objections, namely Rejuvenation will be too expensive to create and Rejuvenation won’t happen within my lifetime.

I also created a page containing all answers in short, whose purpose should be self-explanatory. Each short answer on this page links to the corresponding full answer both on Rejuvenaction and LEAF (if available). More generally, each time you see this icon

leaf

it means the article you’re reading has a counterpart on LEAF which I linked to and you may want to check out.

I also retouched some other articles here and there, and shortened the titles of menu items for the sake of navigability. Should you find any broken links anywhere, please let me know. With all the changes I made, it’s bound to have happened somewhere.

Next, I’m planning to add more content to the section about ageing and SENS, but it’ll take a while before I even begin, so don’t hold your breath.

On an unpleasant note, the crowdfunding campaign for CellAge has only two days left to go and has reached only 29% of the goal. If you can help push that percentage a bit higher, please do.

UPDATE: The CellAge fundraiser has been extended until February 24th, and is currently 30% funded. We’ve got over a month’s time to make it 100%!

7 thoughts on “Update bundle #3

  1. I am truly glad to read this webpage posts which
    carries tons of valuable data, thanks for providing these information.

  2. This blog is really well written in a clear and concise manner. It is still a lot of text though. Any chance of some infographics on what aging is, and the types of interventions people are trying to create? I saw a recent post over at fightaging.org about the confusion that still reigns among reporters, so they end up reporting every approach as if it has an equal chance of success:

    https://www.fightaging.org/archives/2017/01/the-case-for-defeating-death-by-aging/

    Here is a pretty good cartoon video by João Pedro Magalhaes on his approach to treating aging (he thinks aging is the 7 SENS categories plus DNA damage):

    Any thoughts on other ways to communicate these ideas to people?

    • Hey Jim,
      thanks for your comment. You make a point others have made before, and I agree with it—I tend to write a lot. I don’t think these topics are simple enough to avoid going into a lot of details, but I definitely have a tendency to use two words where I could use one. I love your idea about infographics, and as I said in this post, I’m planning to heavily revise the ageing&SENS section, adding also other theories of ageing. Infographics and videos will for sure be part of it. However, before I get there, I’ll need to learn more about it myself (and I need to find the time for it). Reason is right. Reporters don’t really know what they’re saying, that’s why they all trumpet immortality and other nonsense when we’re still a long way from getting even first-generation therapies done.

      I watched João’s video before, though my understanding was that he hasn’t really bought into SENS and is pursuing a different approach. Did I misunderstand?

      As for your last question, I think that perhaps SciShow-style videos on the theme of ageing, its defeat, and the benefits that would come from it, could be a good idea. To get them done though, you’d need proper means and a bunch of people who know what they’re doing all in one location. It can’t be done by a group of enthusiasts scattered across the world, I’m afraid.

    • Maybe I’m not the most common guy on the Internet nowadays, but I hugely prefer text over video and infographics. Text is much more easily searchable and translatable (not all your readers must be proficient in spoken English). Also, it’s easy to cite parts of texts.

  3. João expresses his (supporting) view on SENS here, although he thinks de Grey and colleagues are vastly underestimating the technical difficulty of doing so:

    http://www.senescence.info/sens.html

    Regarding the difficulty that reporters face when digging into the topic of anti aging research, even though I knew that I was looking for that essay on his site, it still took me about 15 minutes of digging to find it. I don’t imagine a journalist taking that amount of time to read that site.

    I realize I may be asking you to square a circle. But like João’s site, the more that gets written on this site, the more impenetrable it will become. I think fightaging.org takes the approach of “Well it’s a blog and old posts will fall to the bottom and that is ok as this is a tool for drawing people in and creating new supporters”. But as a platform for giving reporters or other influencers a comprehensive view of the field, and why some approaches seem doomed to fail, it is a fairly impenetrable wall of text.

    I think basically I am asking you to create the best sitemap in existence. An infographic, with maybe tooltip boxes of further text on mouseover of various parts, and maybe links to full blog articles getting highlighted in out of all blog articles in a list down the right hand side of the page?

    I can see that Maria Konovalenko‎ created a summary picture:

    But I don’t know if that is really helping anyone? So I was thinking if it was interactive…

    I am not a web developer or artist with the skill to do that. And would it make that much difference?

    • Interesting suggestions 🙂 As a matter of fact, I’m thinking to switch to paid WordPress, which would allow me to mess around with CSS and reorganise the page as I wish. Anyway, I’m interested in more of your feedback. For example, I was quite convinced that the sidebar of Rejuvenaction did a pretty good job at highlighting answers to objections. It also shows the five most recent posts. Switching to paid WP should allow me to change the theme to the point where I could move some stuff from the sidebar to other areas—like the header, or even a left sidebar—creating more room to highlight older content. Perhaps I could have a list of ‘special posts’ that are more important to read than others. Anyway, if you feel like writing down any suggestion that come to mind, I’ll gladly take them into account when revamping the style of the site.

  4. I think your site is pretty well laid out already. But maybe have a second non blog site (or section) aimed at reporters?

    On the other hand – is it worth the effort? The SENS Foundation created some more slick animated videos about the 7 classes of damage, and they haven’t been viewed a whole lot (although they would be useful if they popped up on mouseover on an infographic):

Leave a Reply

