Be the Lifespan

I apologise for my long silence (both here and on l4t), but I’m having another of my crazy busy periods. As a matter of fact, I’ve got something going on behind the scenes for Rejuvenaction—major content updates that I’m planning and soon I’ll be working on, but don’t hold your breath. It’s gonna be a long thing, and I probably won’t get to it properly until my busyness is over.

In the meantime, have a look at Lifespan.io’s new campaign:


This campaign has no expiry date, and it aims at getting a decent monthly budget for LEAF/Lifespan.io to fund more and more projects and initiatives to help scientific research against age-related diseases and spread awareness. The base goal is 1000$, but with a higher budget, LEAF may be able to do a lot of cool things, like collaboration videos with big YouTube names such as SciShow and Kurzgesagt and yearly conferences. If you can spare even just a few dollars a month, you can help LEAF make a big difference.

You can also help out by spreading the word on your social media—remember to use the hashtags #aging, #crowdfundthecure, #bethelifespan.

6 thoughts on “Be the Lifespan

  1. I think it is just an indefinite monthly payment.

    To expand the amount of money that supporters can raise, I suggested that Lifespan.io set up a page/form which members can use to conduct a fundraiser for some painful activity like a fast or a 10km run. It would work like sites such as Justgiving, but without the 5% fee they charge, while still having a nice progress bar.

    They could also have pre written blurbs about the science of the various SENS damage categories that people could cut and paste onto their fundraiser pages, or post onto social media, to try and peak the interest of their friends and relatives into the field of anti aging research. My friend network is amazingly resistant to reading any links I ever send them on social media.

    I would even suggest that each person’s fundraiser should be about only one of the areas, such as “Help me raise money for research into the genetic correction of mitochondrial disease which affects some poor children, and also everyone by the time they are old”. This might be a way to sidestep the same tired objections people to busy to actually think about anti aging research usually think up.

    Keith Comito responded positively to this when I suggested it in the comments over at fightaging.org:

    https://www.fightaging.org/archives/2017/04/show-your-appreciation-for-the-fundraising-work-of-lifespan-io/

    • Yes, indeed, it is as you said. I’m correcting the post now, I was waiting for confirmation by Keith that there’s no expiry date indeed.

      Your suggestions are interesting, though I think that pitching a fundraiser for, say, mitochondrial disease that affects children plus everyone when they’re old will work better on those who don’t already know you’re into anti-ageing research. Those who know might be malicious enough to think you’re only using poor children as a pretest and that there’d be no benefit for them. (Some of my facebook friends probably would.) I think it’s important that people realise why anti-ageing research is vital per se, without need to piggy-back on other socially more acceptable causes, but anyway yours is indeed a good suggestion to sort of wedge people’s mind open to the idea of rejuvenation biotechs. I’ll make sure to suggest it myself again. For each rejuvenation treatment, we need a list of immediate benefits it would bring to other people than the elderly, as the poor children in your example. I know for a fact that, for example, lysosomal disease does occur early on in unlucky devils born with certain genetic abnormalities.

      As a sidenote, I’ve had far more success in opening people’s mind in person rather than on social media. On the Internet, people tend to see aggressiveness where there isn’t any, and to see their nemesis in a number of causes that are either not exactly their own or already socially accepted. This works against us a lot.

  2. I tried to talk to my brother and a smart arse nurse about rejuvenation biotech possibilities one night. The nurse (much older than us and in her 50s) objected by saying that people often get happier as they get older. And my brother got angry when I tried to point out that they’d be happier still if they were in a healthier youthful body. Basically it descended into a drunken argument, even though everyone had only downed a glass or two of wine.

    On the other hand my brother would probably immediately donate $200 if I said I was doing some sort of charity fundraiser without even caring about what it was for.

    Yeah you are right about the potential misdirection allegations by saying mitochondrial disease makes kids sick, and everyone in old age. Maybe I should saying I am raising money for mitochondrial research as it makes everyone frail and unwell in old age, and also some unfortunate kids born with a mitochondrial mutation.

    • The appropriate answer to the ‘people get happier when they’re older’ is that if they do so, it’s because of the longer life experience they have, certainly not because they’re getting sicker. This is an example of mixing up chronological ageing and biological ageing.

      Keep these discussions far from alcohol, if you want my advice.

  3. Just a doubt: since we need to be young to be healthy, so in the future everybody will look like 25 years old people? Fathers, sons and grandfathers will have the same biological age and appereance? Isn’t it weird?

    • Yes, the idea is that, thanks to rejuvenation, your body feels, functions, and looks as when your were a young adult. We won’t all look the same, but we’ll all look young. It wouldn’t be weird, it would just be uncommon with respect to how things had always been before rejuvenation existed. Once rejuvenation became the norm, it wouldn’t feel uncommon or weird anymore not to see any old-looking people around. Besides, I do think that a bit of weirdness is acceptable if the prize is never having to suffer the diseases of old age.

Leave a Reply

